Mor Thiam – Ayo Ayo Nene

A great afro-jazz number, and my favorite song by Akon’s dad. The descending riff right before the chorus is very catchy, as is the saxophone part following the chorus. Lester Bowie and Oliver Lake both perform on this cut, and Freddie Hubbard might also, but I’m not totally sure about that one. It boggles the mind how someone so talented as Mor Thiam (pronounced “more chahm”) could produce such an offspring as Akon (although if someone threw on “I Wanna Love You” at a party, I very well might lose my shit).

Leave a Reply

