David Bowie – Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps)

This, the title track from David Bowie’s 1980 album Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps), has been one of my favorite Bowie songs since I was little. I think it’s one of the best instances of natural and electronic instruments working together. The percussion is all synth-generated, but everything else is organic. It’s also an amazing example of harmony and discord working together. The backing vocals, and sometimes the lead vocals, provide a discernible melody, but Robert Fripp (of King Crimson fame) plays “all the wrong notes” on his guitar, as I once heard it put (very aptly), and it works amazingly well. I’m not surprised I used to jump around to this song as a kid, and I wouldn’t be surprised if I (or anyone else) jumped around to it now.

Leave a Reply

